Skip To Main Content

Recent Communications from Prep

November 30, 2020

Dear Community Member,

On Friday, LADPH ordered additional safety modifications that began today and continue through December 20. The order advises all LA County residents to stay home as much as possible and requires wearing a face covering over the nose and mouth when outside their household and around others. It also prohibits all public and private gatherings with individuals not in the same household, except for religious services and protests.

Based on Governor Newsom’s statements today about ICU bed demand, test positivity rates, and case rates, we regret we must postpone our inaugural social-emotional (SEL) activities which had been scheduled for December: 12th grade on December 2, 10th and 11th grades on December 4, 9th grade on December 9, and 7th and 8th grades on December 18.

The earliest we foresee hosting these events would be late January or early February. Following these inaugural events, we hope to begin implementation of a regular social-emotional program for students, assuming state and local guidelines permit it and it is safe and responsible to do so.

We continue to monitor the situation with respect to our ongoing high school on-campus athletic conditioning programs, scheduled to resume December 7, and our middle school conditioning afternoon, scheduled for December 11. We will communicate by December 4 regarding the continuation of the athletic conditioning program this month. As always, our foremost concern is the health and safety of our community members.

I will be joined by Vanessa Walker-Oakes and Sarah Cooper in giving updates on the school year so far and addressing questions at our Town Hall Meeting hosted by Parents Association President Juliette Harrhy. This Town Hall will be held at 4:00 p.m. tomorrow, Tuesday, December 1, via Zoom. (Parents, please refer to your email for the Zoom link).

My very best,

Jim Pickett
Head of School

The COVID-19 School Compliance Task Force also includes:
Theresa King
Kim Kinder
Sarah Cooper
Vanessa Walker-Oakes
Nick Adams-Wright
Andres Alamillo
Nicole Haims Trevor

The COVID-19 School Compliance Task Force can be reached by emailing at any time.