In the News

Class of 2020 Senior Award Recipients Announced
Posted 07/10/2020 04:09PM

As we continue to celebrate our Class of 2020, the Senior Awards were announced today in an email to the recent graduates and their parents.  

Each year, Prep faculty select students to receive the Senior Awards, which recognize their scholarly, artistic, and athletic accomplishments, as well as their leadership and mentorship. 

Assistant Head for Student Life Vanessa Walker-Oakes, Assistant Head for Academic Life Sarah Cooper, Associate Dean for Student Support Midge Kimble, and Head Emeritus Peter Bachmann wrote to the entire class and honored their continued resiliency as a group and as individuals. 

“While this spring presented unprecedented challenges, the Class of 2020 finished their time at Prep with finesse, resilience, and determination, inspiring younger students, parents, faculty, and staff with your leadership,” the administrators wrote in the email.  

The awards typically are read at the Commencement ceremony, with speeches given by the Founders Trophy and Benton Memorial recipients. With this year’s event being virtual, the administration hoped to hold an in-person ceremony later in the summer to honor the graduates if conditions and guidelines allowed for larger gatherings. “We had hoped to recognize you all, collectively and as individuals, at a celebration this summer. As events are proceeding, however, it becomes hard to imagine that an in-person gathering will occur before you are all on to the next stage of your lives,” they said.  

The administration lauded thgenerosity and leadership of graduates who were in Student Senate, SCAC, ACL, FLINT, and Club Council, as well as peer counselors, senior leaders, 8th grade buddies, and club presidents, who collectively supported our community and contributed to student lifeThe senior award recipients are listed below. 

We’re so proud of each of the graduates in the Class of 2020! 

Senior Award Recipients 



DAR Good Citizenship Award

Ben Baraga

Scholarship and Service Award

Ben Baraga and Carrie Luk

Parents Association and Fathers Club Scholarship ($1,000.00)

Germaine Harvey and Sylvie Shure

The Class of 2020 Tom Fry Memorial Award ($500.00)

Kristofer Chang

Senior Athletes of the Year

Kaitlyn Chen and Ben Grable

NCTE Nominee

Maggie Cole

English Department Award

Noelle Tamura

World Languages Department Award - Spanish

Tess Robertson-Neel

World Languages Department Award - French

Jeffrey Pendo

John W. Neupauer Award in Latin

Renee Ventresca

History Department Award

Jason Kreinberg

Science Department Award

Grady Morrissey

Mathematics Department Award - Computer Science

Patrick Hastings

Mathematics Department Award

Alex Bouquet

Visual Arts Department Award

Mia Bella Chavez

Performing Arts Department Award - Dance

Julia Boberg

Performing Arts Department Award - Drama

Ryan Waldheim

Performing Arts Department Award - Vocal Music

Barnett Liu

Performing Arts Department Award - Instrumental Music

Carrie Luk

Performing Arts Department Award

Lilly Fox

Cum Laude Society Inductees

Ben Baraga, Natalie Bax, Alec Bernardi, Ani Bernardi, Alex Bouquet, Violet Bretz, Pierre Cativiela, Kristofer Chang, Maya Khurana, Nick Klatsky, Jason Kreinberg, Audrey Laun, Carrie Luk, Charlie McCormick, Grady Morrissey, Tess Robertson-Neel, Reagan Schmidt, Sylvie Shure, Simon Siskel, Derek Tran

FLINT Student Leadership Award

David Egan

Benton Memorial Award

Charlie McCormick

Founders Trophy

Maya Khurana

Flintridge Preparatory School
4543 Crown Avenue La Cañada Flintridge CA 91011
Tel: 818-790-1178
Fax: 818-952-6247
Located near Pasadena and Los Angeles in La Cañada, CA, Flintridge Prep is a private independent, coed day school for grades 7-12.
  • NAIS
  • FAST
  • CSEE
  • Independent Curriculum Group
powered by finalsite